Less talk, more do

Once the holidays rolled around, my mind seemed to check out and the only things I could do was be “out there”.  With that said, my talk via EarthRespect journaling has almost been non-existent, while my doing has been on overdrive. These are the 4 “oceany” things has been I have been up to:

1) Cleanup Challenge

365cleanupchallenge

I have now completed over 15 consecutive days of daily beach cleanups since before the new year.  On the first day of 2016, I announced my “365 Day Cleanup Challenge“. I missed my beach cleanup today however. It has been raining almost all day; a good thing as California really needs the water. Some days I do two cleanups in one day, so hopefully I will be able to make up for today soon!

2) Creating Space
20160119_162838

 

I published a want ad for a folding table on NextDoor to my Moss Beach, California community, and within six hours Molly donated exactly the table I needed for my creative garbage art endeavors! Gratitude. So now I’m able to actually create small works of art from the beach plastics that I collect, to help raise gas money for cleanups through the end of 2016 and beyond! I will also be working on a much larger exhibition over a period of 5-10 years as well.

Washing, disinfecting, drying and organizing the plastics has been quite the project too. I’ve been recycling plastic salad boxes and one gallon water jugs to organize the plastics. The Safeway in Pacifica has agreed to save their plastic salad boxes for me for storage containers.

3) Trashy Networking

Screen Shot 2016-01-14 at 11.36.19 PM.png

I’ve also been heavily engaged with Instagram, networking with beach cleaner-uppers around the world! It’s wonderful to know that I am one of many individuals who are making it their mission to pick up trash and talk about it through their own programs such as litterati, trashybeach, bakerbeachsftheplanetlovelife, 5pieces_a_day, _snaptrashjanisselbyjones, trashplanet_norway and 415plumber and more! I love the way we commiserate such as, “Looks just like trash here” says trashybeach, or encouragement such as, “well done” from _snaptrash after posting a photo of a bag full of trash.

4) Shooting Waves

Screen Shot 2016-01-14 at 11.38.23 PM.png

I started a “Waves” channel on YouTube where I videotape the waves for a few minutes in quiet meditation and share the message I receive. I also started videotaping myself talking about the trash problem too, but not sure how much of that I will be doing. I get all girly and think my hair is too messed up and my teeth not clean enough, or just made up a new word by combining two words. Exhausting. Verbal is not really my thing.

So that’s what I have been up to and that doesn’t include my part time job, and oh yes… college starts back up next week too. I hope that I can share some of the artwork I create soon. Stay tuned!

Screen Shot 2016-01-14 at 11.15.46 PM.png

This is a small fraction of the collections I have now since I started coming home with stuff mid-October 2015. I hoard garbage. 🙂

20160112_134852

About the cover photo: These are plastics from one beach cleanup at Dunes Beach a week ago – 336 bottle caps, 73 straws and so much more!

Please feel free to comment!

